Haruaki Korean & Japanese Restaurant

25 May

I went along to Haruaki with some friends on Monday night after one of them emphatically recommended the joint.

She was spot on!

Haruaki serves cheap, good food with an interior to match.

Haruaki

But honestly, you don’t notice the simple decor when the food is as fast and tantalising at it is.

For the veg heads: there is a pretty good range of veg dishes, especially in the starters. However there could be a few more veg options in the mains.

For my starter I ordered a delicious marinated tofu dish (sorry I didn’t get a photo of it!) and I tried some of my friend’s vegetarian gyoza which were nice.

I’m not the biggest gyoza fan but I liked these as they had soy protein inside.

For my main I ordered the Vegetable Bibimbap with extra tofu (if you haven’t ┬ánoticed I loveeee tofu) – a signature Korean dish.

Bibimbap literally means ‘mixed meal’ – so as you can imagine it’s a mixture of delicious asian veggies, tofu on rice with a fiery sauce and a raw egg on top.

Vegetable Bibimbap. Credit: theindolentcook.blogspot.com/2010/12/haruaki-windsor.html

It arrived steaming hot and my friends quickly grabbed a soy sauce and chilli bottle in each hand and added it to the dish whilst it was steaming.

The flavours were strong, spicy, and exciting. Can’t wait to have it again.

If you’re in the area (Chapel Street, Windsor) and up for a cheap, good meal give it a shot.

Would I go back? Yes
Vegetarian options: 6/10
Food: 7.5/10
Decor/interior: 4/10
Service: 7/10

Haruaki on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

